KIE Now Accepting Nominations for 2019 Wendy Wayne Ethics Awards

KIE Now Accepting Nominations for 2019 Wendy Wayne Ethics Awards

The Kegley Institute of Ethics at California State University, Bakersfield is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Wendy Wayne Ethics Awards. The awards recognize people who regularly inspire through their honorable commitment to improving the lives of others. Nominations can be submitted online here. The deadline for 2019 nominations is November 30, 2018.

The awards honor CSUB alumna and beloved Bakersfield community member Wendy Wayne and celebrate individuals who stand out in their dedication to serving others. Past recipients have included individuals who have fought against a particular injustice or who have devoted a lifetime to assisting the most vulnerable in our community. Given annually to one adult and one youth, the awards come with a $5,000 charitable donation or college scholarship. The awards are made possible due to the generous support of Kaiser Permanente, Adventist Health Bakersfield, and Mr. Gene Tackett.

Wendy Wayne was the exemplar for these awards. At the age of 20, she joined the Peace Corps and traveled to east Africa, where she provided a range of assistance, including language and health education. She later worked as a nurse practitioner, public health nurse, childbirth educator, credentialed community college teacher, Kern County planning commissioner and the chief administrator of two local nonprofit organizations dedicated to the health and well-being of children.

The list of previous recipients includes some of Bakersfield’s most inspiring residents, including Pastor Manuel Carrizalez, Collen McGauley, Lance McCullah, Jan Hefner, Mayor Karen Goh, and Dr. Thomas Larwood. The youth recipients further inspire by showing how courage and integrity start at a young age. They include Navjyot Gill, Victoria Scoggan, Elizabeth Pelzer, Joseph Constantine, Carly Riddle, and Yoceline Aguilar.

“Wendy Wayne Ethics Awardees inspire us to take an ethical stand in our communities, in ways both large and small. They are, in short, ethical leaders, and it is privilege to recognize them each year,” said KIE Director Dr. Michael D. Burroughs.

Questions can be directed to Dr. Michael D. Burroughs at mburroughs1@csub.eduor by calling KIE at (661) 654-6263. Winners will be celebrated at an invitation-only ceremony at the Seven Oaks Country Club.