Nominations Now Open for 2020 Wendy Wayne Ethics Awards

Nominations Now Open for 2020 Wendy Wayne Ethics Awards

The Kegley Institute of Ethics at California State University, Bakersfield is now accepting nominations for the 2020 Wendy Wayne Ethics Awards. The awards recognize people, youth and adults, who inspire through their ethical commitment and actions to improve the lives of others in our community. Nominations can be submitted online here.

The deadline for 2020 nominations is November 29, 2019.

The awards honor CSUB alumna and beloved Bakersfield community member Wendy Wayne and, like Wendy, celebrate individuals who stand out in their dedication to serving others. Given annually to one adult and one youth, the awards come with a $5,000 charitable donation or college scholarship. The awards are made possible due to the generous support of Kaiser Permanente and Adventist Health Bakersfield.

The list of previous adult recipients includes some of Bakersfield’s most inspiring residents, including Daryl Thiesen, Judy Snyder, Pastor Manuel Carrizalez, Collen McGauley, Lance McCullah, Jan Hefner, Mayor Karen Goh, and Dr. Thomas Larwood. The youth recipients further inspire by showing how courage and integrity start at a young age. They include Yvette Flores, Navjyot Gill, Victoria Scoggan, Elizabeth Pelzer, Joseph Constantine, Carly Riddle, and Yoceline Aguilar.

“Wendy Wayne Ethics Awardees inspire us to take an ethical stand in our communities, in ways both large and small. They are, in short, ethical leaders, and it is privilege to recognize them each year,” said KIE Director Dr. Michael D. Burroughs.

Questions can be directed to Dr. Michael D. Burroughs at or by calling KIE at (661) 654-6263. Winners will be celebrated at an invitation-only ceremony at the Seven Oaks Country Club.